This module adds a field to user profiles that displays who created the user, along with permissions to control who can view or edit this information. It allows you to track user creation details, such as identifying users who registered themselves versus those added by administrators.
Adds a field to User showing who created the user and creates permissions around that field.
Configuration
Configure the user permissions in Administration » People » Permissions:
- Edit User Created By field: Roles assigned this permission can edit the field after it's populated at a user's creation. Reminder that Administrators can always edit this field.
- View User Created By field: Roles assigned this permission can see the field. Useful to share the information without allowing users to edit the field.
After install, you can output the field where desired.
- Recommended to show it at least on the People page found on Administration » People. To accomplish this, please edit the view found in Administration » Structure » Views and add the field to the People view.
- For non-Administrative roles to edit, please remember to add it to the appropriate Form Displays.
Warning
This module adds a new field on the User entity when installed. It will remove that field (and the data) when it is uninstalled. You can comment out those lines in ./user_created_by_field.install before uninstalling to keep the new field and content. As always, please remember to have proper backups of your database.
Example use case
When viewing a list of users, you can determine which were anonymous (created themselves) and which were created by current users. Want to know who added a new Editor to the site? This module can tell you.
Installation
Install as you would normally install a contributed Drupal module. Visit https://www.drupal.org/node/1897420 for further information.
FAQ
Q: Why don't I see the new field?
A: The field is part of the User entity. You will need to add it to a View and Form display.
Q: What happens when I uninstall the module?
A: The installed field and content of that field will be removed from your database.
You can stop this by uncommenting out the code in user_created_by_field.install
file before uninstalling.
Similar Modules
User Created By - uses a new entity to track. The module 'User Created By Field' (this page you're looking at) adds a field to the User and permissions around that new field rather than use a new entity.
Ask your assistant about User Created by Field
Check compatibility with your Drupal and PHP version, maintenance and security coverage, from current release data. How it works
Depends on
Dependencies of the latest stable release
- user Drupal core
Required by
Tracked projects that depend on this one
No tracked projects depend on this one yet.